Uneventful Winter

Homesteading

I’m disappointed. I was promised snow here in the Pacific Northwest & here we are December 22nd, and it’s bloody sunny and dry. Agh. It isn’t feeling like winter. It’s just cold enough that the house is drafty but not cold enough that we want to start a fire in the stove until the evening. My visions of curling up next to the wood burning stove with yarn and homesteading books while watching the snow fall all winter are put on hold. Oh well.

I can’t say things have been very eventful here on the Johnson homestead. We are focusing on fixing up the inside of our house but nothing has begun yet. I’m mostly reading before Spring comes and we are planning the garden, beehives, duck coop, rabbit hutches and the 800 other things we have planned for May…but it’s all planning and plotting.

Uncle Jim & Aunt Janet have been sending us some goodies though…

They sent us a BUNCH of heirloom seeds from their garden.

20141222_161515

We got Serrano Chili Pepper, Long Island Cheese Pumpkin (Aunt Janet said these made the best pumpkin pie they’ve had), Green Pea, Virginia Gourdseed Corn, Anna Swartz Hubbard Squash, Dill (they know I just love fresh Dill), Purple Top White Globe Turnip, Table Queen Squash, Cucumber, Vermont Cranberry Dry Bean, Detroit Dark Red Beet & Provider Green Bean.

We got so spoiled by them 🙂 🙂

We are super excited to see if the varieties they use in Indiana will do okay out here!

I’ve started (by started I mean I’ve glanced through the catalogs) planning what heirloom seeds we need to purchase now in addition to the ones that were gifted to us. Along with that Chris and I have been considering the benefits of raised bed gardening. Uncle Jim & Aunt Janet also sent us a book on Straw bale gardening so that,along with seed catalogs, have taken over my dining room table.

20141222_155835

I’m pleased to share that my culinary/medicinal herbs that I started indoors are doing well. Yay!

 20141222_155933

I am growing

Thyme, Basil, Oregano, Dill, Parsley, Rosemary, Peppermint, Chamomile. Calendula, Wood Betony, Lavender, Lemon Balm, Echinacea and Plantain. There are a few more that I plan to add but I’ve got a small start. I’m going to do a little herb profile post so you can read all about what I’m growing.

Hopefully I have more for you soon.

🙂

Leave a Reply

