Cultivating Gratefulness

Uncategorized

5386d0ffb4dbb71556ef2195d9e45f43

I recently had the opportunity to sit down with a kind, warm and caring friend. She always invites me into her home, makes coffee and takes time out of her week to spend hours with me. During our visit, she opened up to me a little. Our conversation hit me like a ton of bricks. I take A LOT Β for granted. And it’s not just me…but almost everyone at some point or another doesn’t stop to be thankful for something. I, like many others, find myself complaining and stressing about the little things rather than stopping to enjoy everything I have. I won’t deny it…we are all guilty of it at some point. I wake up healthy in a house too big, I have a closet full of clothes and a warm meal on the table every night. I have a husband that loves and provides for me, the bills are always paid and we have savings in the bank account. I don’t even think to stop and be grateful for that everyday. That’s not to say I am not thankful…because I am..but I often forget these things when my day goes rougher than I would like.

My dear friend struggles to make ends meet and has really been down on her luck…yet her and her family are grateful and humble. They devote much of their time and energy into others and are grateful for what they have. It’s really a beautiful thing.

I learned a lot from our short conversation and brought it back home to Chris. We both have been really focusing on how fortunate we are and how we want to give back. Β We are choosing going forward to be more present and thankful each day. Too often we get caught up in the simple things and forget how lucky we are to be alive.

d28cc328915511448dc833ad485945f3

I challenge you to be more present and grateful in your daily lives.

63fa1ee0605af33d63d2f12b72130df9

Leave a Reply

