Music Garlic

Homesteading

I FINALLY FINally finally got my garlic in the ground! Phew. Our first frost was a few weeks ago…and I should have done it then but I waited. Luckily it’s still not too late…but I cut it close.

I got a Hardneck variety called Music. After much research I decided this was the right variety for us. Music has high yields, large cloves that are easy to peel, is very cold tolerant, has great flavor and can store for 9 months to 1 year. I was sold. So I ordered a pound and planted it.

Garlic is apparently really easy to plant. All you do is break apart the bulbs to separate the cloves, being careful not to damage the base where the cloves are attached. Like this:

20141016_111613

Garlic prefers full sun but can tolerate partial shade. So I picked out a spot near our veggie garden that has full sun, but where the Garlic will be out of the way. Then you dig a hole and cover each individual clove with 1-2 inches of soil. Space the cloves 4-6 inches apart.

20141016_112140

Then throw some mulch on those babies to keep them “insulated” and let them be. Next Spring some stems and little curlies called garlic scapes (which are edible) will pop up..you remove those to encourage the plant to put all of its energy to the bulbs and harvest in late-summer to mid-fall. Seems easy enough right?

Hopefully it works.

This is my first “official” planting here…woot.

Super short post…we are still working on firewood..and winterizing the chicken coop..and burning debris..and insulating the house…etc etc etc. @ least the weather is still gray and gorgeous…ahhhh…have I said we love the fall yet?

*S

Leave a Reply

