Hypothyroidism & The Paleo Diet

Paleo/Primal

At 3 days old I was diagnosed with congenital hypothyroidism. What is hypothyroidism you ask? It simply means that my thyroid is underactive. This can lead to a host of unpleasant symptoms including:

  • Fatigue
  • Weakness
  • Weight gain or increased difficulty losing weight
  • Coarse, dry hair
  • Dry, rough pale skin
  • Hair loss
  • Cold intolerance (you can’t tolerate cold temperatures like those around you)
  • Muscle cramps and frequent muscle aches
  • Constipation
  • Depression
  • Irritability
  • Memory loss
  • Abnormal menstrual cycles
  • Decreased libido

And when Your thyroid is off…it feels terrible!

So 2+ times a year I go and get my blood drawn and check my levels, adjusting my medication as needed. I have taken a synthetic hormone replacement everyday since 3 days old. As far as diseases go, this really isn’t THAT terrible but it still isn’t great to have.

I have struggled most often with my weight. It fluctuates…A LOT. Thankfully, thanks to Paleo I’ve pretty much got that under control.

Well it turns out that Paleo is probably, in my opinion, THE single best thing you can do for your thyroid. After hours and hours of researching a thyroid friendly diet…everything I read basically described Paleo ( with the exception of consumption of raw dairy products, which I dabble in once in a while). Not only is it great for nourishing the rest of your body it really nourishes your thyroid. From experience….it works!!

Within the last few years especially I have become very in tune with myself. It might sound crazy but many of us are not that in tune with our bodies, heck I wasn’t for the majority of my life. I can feel when i’m not only feeling under the weather, but specifically when my thyroid levels are off. It has happened 2 times in the last 10 months and each time I went in for blood work. Both times I was expecting to hear “your thyroid is still too low we need to up the dose of your medication”, but instead the opposite happened…”your thyroid levels are too high we need to lower your medication” WHAT?!?!?  That has NEVER never NEVER happened…ever in 25 years! And 2 times?! The only thing that has really changed (besides being completely at peace in my life for once) is following a paleo diet. I have now lowered my medication dose 2 times in less than a year.

For those like me that suffer from thyroid issues this is HUGE

I honestly thought my life would consist of an ever increasing dose of synthetic thyroid hormones. I’m trying to be real and understand that the body fluctuates and I may need to up my levels again but I’m going to enjoy this moment.

If you suffer from thyroid issues I urge you to look into the Paleo Diet, it has helped a lot of other sufferers and may just help you 🙂

Along the lines of thyroid issues I have some other news.

I’m doing it..I’m switching to Armour Thyroid. If you don’t know what that is it’s a thyroid hormone replacement derived from desiccated Porcine thyroid gland. ( Dried pig thyroid gland) Since I’m crunchy you know I hate chemicals, artificial substances and conventional medication…well why should my thyroid medication be any different? I have eliminated almost all of the toxins from my daily life, why not my medication as well? I am so excited to make the switch. I’ve heard a lot of people feel so much better on it, then again..it’s natural so why wouldn’t they?

I’ve been wanting to do this for a while but my conventional doctors have always been unwilling to prescribe it. I’m sure they make more off the synthetic pharmaceutical companies..grr. Anywho I decided it was time for a new doctor, one that was in line with my vision of health. There is this great thing available called The Paleo Physicians Network, an online source that allows you to search for Paleo-oriented doctors in your area! How exciting. Well I got on there and while there were none close enough in Washington, I found Dr. Willett in Idaho. So I made the 1 hour drive each way to his office and was incredibly impressed! He was fantastic…and best of all completely for switching me to Armour Thyroid. He was more thorough than any doctor I’ve been to and more alternative and natural than conventional doctors. He is helping me address my thyroid issues as well as my hormone imbalances and adrenal issues. So go on there…and find a doctor that tells you to eat a real food diet instead of grains and soy! Trust me, even if you have to drive 2 hours round trip it’s so worth it!

*S

One thought on “Hypothyroidism & The Paleo Diet

Leave a Reply

