Homemade Natural Toothpaste

Homesteading, Natural Home & Personal Care

In an effort to not only heal our teeth but eliminate harmful toxins from our everyday life I’ve started making our own toothpaste.

Conventional store bought toothpastes contain terrifying toxic substances, the one raising the most concern being Fluoride. Did you know that Fluoride was initially used as a rat poison?! Yes you heard me rat poison. Bravo to the genius that decided putting rat poison in toothpaste was a good idea. If that isn’t enough to get you to switch then let me tell you a few other facts about Fluoride. Just to name a few Fluoride has been linked to:

Thyroid Damage

-Lower IQ

-Brain damage

-Impacted learning and behavior

– Non-IQ Neurotoxic effects

– Reduced Melatonin Production

– Earlier puberty in children

-Bone Damage and/or cancer

– Reproductive Issues

Check this out to read more. I also encourage you to do more research on your own.

Anywho that is not something I want anywhere near my family’s mouths. Sure there are some natural options out there, but not all of them have ingredient lists I am comfortable with and when then do they can be quite pricey. Besides being cheap, making your own is a lot of fun! I combined Wellness Mama’s Remineralizing Toothpaste with a few of my own ingredients to suit our preferences. Wellness Mama’s recipe is great but we didn’t like the fact that it solidified and was difficult to spread around the mouth. The taste…well it takes some getting used to but all in all it isn’t bad.

Homemade Toothpaste

  • 5 parts Calcium powder
  • 1 part Food Grade Diatomaceous Earth (optional- contains trace minerals and silica. UPDATE: A reader noted that DE can be abrasive and is not needed with the baking soda, so if you don’t have DE… no worries!) IT IS IMPORTANT TO MAKE SURE YOUR DE IS FOOD GRADE. COMMERCIAL DE CAN BE HARMFUL AND SHOULD NEVER BE USED IN PERSONAL CARE PRODUCTS!
  • 2 parts Baking Soda
  • 3 parts Xylitol Powder– This ingredient is not completely necessary, but just keeps it from tasting bitter. It also has been shown to have positive oral health benefits so I like to throw it in!
  • 3-5 parts coconut oil – I like to melt it
  • 1-2 Parts. Liquid Castile Soap- This one is unscented and great for this but use whatever you like
  • 2 -3 Parts Filtered Water- To get desired texture
  • 4-6 drops Grapefruit Seed Extract
  • Peppermint Essential Oil- I used 30-40 drops but use to your preference. You can also you whatever essential oils you prefer.

This recipe is written in parts. I use Tbsp. So it will read 5 Tbsp. Calcium powder, 1 Tbsp. DE etc. etc. you can do more or less depending on how much you want to make. I found this filled up a pint size mason jar and we are having trouble making a dent in it 🙂

– I like to run my Xylitol through a spice grinder or smash it up with my mortar and pestle to get it to a powder consistency because it is a bit coarse.

– Mix dry ingredients together

-Add coconut oil, liquid castile soap, water, grapefruit seed extract and essential oils

-Mix until combined

– Add more water if needed

– Store in a glass jar with lid

We just dip our toothbrushes in or use a Popsicle stick to spread on the bristles. This will firm up a little but i find it is still a paste like consistency. You can add more water if you want to further thin it out. Our teeth feel clean and fresh and so far we love it!

* I am not a dentist or medical professional. I am simply sharing recipes that I have been trying for my family. Consult your dentist before using a homemade toothpaste if you have concerns.

One thought on “Homemade Natural Toothpaste

Leave a Reply

