My Natural Skin Care Routine

Natural Home & Personal Care

My journey to finding a natural skin care routine was frustrating if nothing else. When I started to become more aware ( actually obsessed with natural everything) I ditched my toxic beauty products in favor of “Natural” brands. Unfortunately most of these natural brands still contain alarming ingredients. So I ditched those and ventured onto Lush Brand Cosmetics. These are handmade and natural as well. Don’t get me wrong..I was in love with their delicious practically edible products. They were pricey but in the beginning seemed to work well for me. I was addicted to their Garlic Face mask for a while there. Well, probably due to my severe hormonal imbalances my skin stopped responding to these products. Wah Wah. While upsetting intially, in the end it ended up being something incredibly positive. That sparked my desire to make my own natural beauty products that work. It was the start of a whole new chapter in my health. Yay.

I now use Oil Cleansing and Honey Face washing for my skin care needs. Let me tell you…these methods have changed my life!

Oil Cleansing..sounds a little counter productive doesn’t it? Won’t smearing oil on my face further clog my pores and cause more break-outs? Actually no. Oil cleansing is based on the idea that “like dissolves like” or “oil dissolves oil”. The nourishing oil actually works to break down the gunky, nasty impurities from your skin and naturally cleanses, detoxes and moisturizes your skin. I’ve read that for some it gets worse before it gets better while your skin detoxes. I personally did not have this problem. The wonderful Wellness MamaΒ has a great post on oil-cleansing how-to. I personally have combination skin (though depending on the season it will do crazy things) and have found that 1 part Castor oil to 3 parts Almond Oil work wonders for me. I usually mix up 1/4 tsp. Castor Oil to 3/4 tsp. Almond Oil..which will give me 2 nights of washes. I just put it in a little mixing cup and set it in the shower to use. I dip my fingers in and then massage it into my face for about 2 minutes. This stuff works great to remove make-up so i use it over my eyeballs as well. I then put a wet hot washcloth over my face covering it completely and let it sit until it cools down. I usually will repeat this once, Β then I lightly wipe my face just enough to remove make-up and that’s it. I don’t even need moisturizer! I Love it! These are the oils I use:

20140710_142101

 

The other method I use is the Honey Washing method. It’s really easy…you use raw honey to wash your face. The thing is you must buy “raw”, “unpasteurized” or “unfiltered” honey which you can find at your local farmer’s market or online. “All-natural” doesn’t mean anything and usually means it is still heated killing it’s natural antibacterial properties and/or diluted with other sweeteners. yuck. Raw honey is affordable, anti-bacterial, anti-microbial and has probiotic properties. It is perfect for all skin types even sensitive, working to balance them and it gently removes impurities without stripping skin of natural oils. All I do is take a 1/2 tsp-1 tsp. raw honey warm it in my fingers and rub it on my face. This does not remove make-up so I steer clear of the eyeballs, and I will use unrefined coconut oil to remove my make-up πŸ™‚ I usually let the thin layer of honey sit on my face for 5-10 minutes then rinse off and gently pat dry. My skin is super soft afterwards and I love the idea of using food-grade products on my face! This is the honey I am using now:

20140710_142325

I’ve found that either alternating days between the oil-cleansing method or using the oil-cleansing method in the evening and the honey cleansing method in the morning works best for me. My skin has drastically improved and my $$$ shelled out for product has significantly decreased. Try it..i’m not saying it will work for you but it’s worth a shot.

More on how I use honey for a ton of things from allergies to burns and more on natural beauty products to come!

Thanks for reading πŸ™‚

*S

2 thoughts on “My Natural Skin Care Routine

  1. nice!!!! so you can’t just mix the castor & almond oil in a container?? it has to be separate? great tips…

Leave a Reply

